Travel and a Little Leisure

This has been a very busy time with a lot going on since besides my writing I am also a working chef. After three brief days in Copenhagen to attend MAD I returned to take care of other commitments and then had to start getting organized to travel to New York. I was honored to have received an invitation to present my cuisine at the prestigious James Beard House in New York on the 27th of September. If there was one thing left on my bucket list it was this opportunity and I could not have asked for anything more than being able to showcase my modernist Indian cuisine.

Then as is customary for me every October I set off for Spain for the San Sebastian Gastronomika where Italy was the invited country this year and I got to see all my Italian friends including Massimo Bottura as well as some of my favorite Spanish chefs like Joan Roca, Carme Ruscalleda, Andoni Aduriz, Quique Dacosta, Martin Berasategui, Eneko Atxa, Dani Garcia, Elena Arzak and not to forget Juan Mari Arzak as without seeing him any visit to San Sebastián is incomplete.

I first arrived in Barcelona where besides visiting Albert Adria’s two new restaurants Nino Viejo, Hoja Santa and of course went to Tickets. In Denia south of Valencia in the Alicante I had a superb meal at Quique Dacosta and it was one of my best dining experiences this year. A six hands dinner with Eneko Atxa, Jordi Roca and Angel Leon was an exceptional experience at Azurmendi on the outskirts of Bilbao as was my visit to Mugaritz. I will be writing about my conversations with all these people as well as about my visit to Emilio Romagnia, Como and Milan. In Paris when you get to see Alain Passard, Guy Savoy, Pierre Gagnaire and Pascal Barbot amongst other iconic chefs you get the sensation of floating on a cloud above the Tour Eiffel.

In a few days it will be back to work after some time in London. In the last week of October I will see some if my friends again in Cologne, Germany at Chef Sache where Virgilio Martinez from Lima and Dacosta and Atxa from Spain are amongst other presenters. I will be back on my regular posting schedule next week since I have a lot of interesting conversations and experiences to report.

With Albert and Sylvia Adria in San Sebastián
With Albert and Sylvia Adria in San Sebastián

Leave a Reply

